To participate in a process or manage processes, the user must be identified as a user in WorkflowGen and have an account (username and password) in the company directory that WorkflowGen will use for authentication.
Users can be members of one or more directory groups; however, a directory group cannot belong to another directory group.
A user may have an active or inactive status. If a user’s status is set to inactive, they cannot access the application.
A user can only be truly deleted from the WorkflowGen database if they are not referenced anywhere in WorkflowGen. If they are referenced, then the user will be archived. Archiving means that the username will be renamed and will be set to archived status, and the user will no longer be able to access the application.
Several directories can be managed in WorkflowGen. This is particularly useful when the synchronization module is used. For example, one directory can be managed manually in WorkflowGen while another can be synchronized based on an existing directory (e.g. Active Directory). Even if many directories are being used, each username must be unique across the entire system. If multiple directories are being used to synchronize several Active Directory domains, domain names can be prefixed to the user name to eliminate the unique user issue (in the event that user names are identical across domains).
User management can only be performed by users with an administrator profile.
By default, WorkflowGen is installed with the
WORKFLOWGEN directory and one administrative user, neither of which can be deleted.